The Modesto Radio Museum foundation was formed in 2004 comprised of current and past men and women with local broadcasting experience.   The original idea for the museum came in 2004, when Harry Pappas, owner of the original KTRB property on Norwegian Ave in Modesto,  contacted  Wes Page, Cecil Lynch and Cal Purviance with the idea to build a museum dedicated to preserving the history of commercial broadcasting in Modesto and the area.   The goal was to increase and preserve the knowledge, understanding and appreciation of their efforts and the equipment they used beginning in 1933 when KTRB signed on the air in Modesto.

Mr. Pappas offered to house the museum in the original KTRB studios building on Norwegian Ave in Modesto at a minimal yearly cost.  Mr. Pappas planned  to renovate the building which had fallen into disrepair to house the museum and his radio station KMPH which replaced KTRB when it moved to San Francisco in June of 2006. 

Unfortunately,  the economy decline led to Mr. Pappas being forced into bankruptcy with repercussions throughout his company,  indirectly including the KTRB property on Norwegian.  This led to the ultimate demise of the physical museum plans and the listing of the property "for sale" in October, 2008.  KMPH failed in August 2010 and went off the air and KTRB San Francisco was taken over by the lender in September 2010.

The Board of the museum elected to continued the museum project as a virtual (on-line) museum only.  This website was established in 2004.  The current Board officers: President John Chappell.  1st Vice President Wes Page.  2nd Vice President Steve White. Secretary, Jerry Moore.   Board of Directors: John Chappell,  Bob Pinheiro, Derek Waring,  Frank Azevedo, Jerry Moore, Wes Page, George Stevans, Derek Waring, J Dennis Larson. Steve White and Bob Neira. 

April 18, 2017 Update.

Co-founder Cal Purviance  passed away January 23, 2011.
Cecil Lynch passed away September 5, 2013.
Jim West passed away March 13, 2016.
Herb Henry resigned 2015.
Mel Freedman passed away January 1, 2017

Current officers as of SEPT. 15, 2017:

PRESIDENT:  John Chappell
FIRST VP: Wes Page
SECOND VP:  Steve White
TREAS: Frank Azevedo
SEC: Jerry Moore

Board of Directors: Dennis Larson, Derek  Waring, Bob De León, George Stevens, Bob Pinheiro, Bob Neira, Steve White.
Webmaster: Bob Pinheiro

Roster >>>

About Us